SirTheory’s Treatise on Life

(opinions on just about anything)

R.I.P. Madeleine L’Engle

To call Madeleine L’Engle my favorite author might be overstating things a bit. But not so much as to consider the statement untrue. It was only last year that I truly grasped the grandeur of her writing. Yet in that year I read almost every novel the woman wrote, I gave a speech about her in my speech class, and I wrote a paper on her poetry. Other authors have probably had a great influence on me, yet few have engaged me the way L’Engle has.

She is best known for her novel, A Wrinkle In Time, which is usually considered a children’s science fiction novel despite her protests. Yet she has written so much more than that. My personal favorites are The Small Rain and A Severed Wasp, the first dealing with the main character as a child, the other as an elderly woman. Camilla is another one I highly treasure.

Even though she hasn’t released a novel for a while, I kept holding on to hope that we would get a follow up to Charles from The Time Quartet. His tale demanded a follow up. But it was, apparently, not meant to be.

My thoughts and prayers go out to her family, friends, and fellow fans. Thank you, Madeleine, for the great stories that transported us into your world, making us feel like we were getting to know you through your characters.

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/09/08/books/07cnd-lengle.html?_r=1&adxnnl=1&oref=slogin&ref=books&adxnnlx=1189191828-26XbKyxB9vwAhW8ooxQy+Q

September 8, 2007 - Posted by | Literature

1 Comment »

  1. My favorite thing about L’Engle’s writing wasn’t the words themselves, or even the stories – it was her ability to weave everything together.
    Canon Tallis, for example, flitting in and out of both chronos and kairos tales, as well as certain women. Adam Ellis, both chronos and kairos; Zachary Grey/Gray, chronos, kairos; Mimi Opp and those related – Queron and Polly’s relationship – the whole intricate balance she created…
    I have never found anything else that was so interwoven. The way she took the story of King David and transformed it into a fascinating story with so much life.. the way she portrayed the relationship between Max and Ursula in A House like a Lotus, and pulled Polly into the fold in such a manner as to make me ache for Polly’s pain… such a glorious author.
    I am working on collecting her entire published works, but it’s a slow process. The older the copy the better, and I fear I may be trying a bit too hard to do just that. For years I planned to write her – to tell her how much I appreciated and loved her writings, to be another of thousands who have said it before me. It always felt as though she wrote just for me, and no one else. Each word was there for my sole benefit, everyone else was merely allowed to look as well. I terribly regret not saying these things in a letter, whether she would have read it or not, it could have, would have, been something tangible, a gift of my own words to thank her for hers.
    Such a beautiful woman.

    Comment by none | October 10, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

