SirTheory’s Treatise on Life

(opinions on just about anything)

Just, like, Books ‘n’ Stuff

How sad is it that the last really good book I’ve read was Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows? Yes, it is still considered a recent release… but I literally finished it the day that it came out. I picked it up at midnight and was finished by 6pm. Since then I have started several books and finished exactly zero. I started working on The Elves and the Otterskin by Elizabeth Boyer. It isn’t horrid and is getting more exciting as I get deeper into it. Yet it lacks subtlety and finesse. Nothing about it really separates it from the crowd.

Several days ago I re-picked up The Other Side of the Sun by Madeleine L’Engle. Precious few recognize L’Engle beyond her children’s classic A Wrinkle In Time, yet she has a massive catalog of books to her name. Last year I decided to try her other stuff and was amazed at how well written it all was. Very quickly she became my favorite author. Yet there were a few books that scared me. This one and The Love Letters. I had to put The Love Letters down for about three to four months before I could work up the courage to finish it. Once I did that I picked this one up and got about one chapter into it before setting it down. Now, over a half year later, I find myself picking it up again and getting engaged. Maybe I had simply burned out on her stuff… after all, I read most of her novels in a one and a half month period. Whatever the case, here I am and I know I’m going to finish it this time. It is a novel which, to quote the cover of my trade paperback version, is about “a family divided by hatred and greed…” Yet there seems to be an underlying mystery that is boiling which should serve as an anchor as the waves of the family problems are ridden. We’ll see. After I finish this one I don’t think there is much left, fiction-wise, for me to hit up from L’Engle. I can think of maybe two more off the top of my head. Then there is a whole slew of biography and Bible-related books that she’s done. Not to mention poetry and such. (She is one of the few poets I can not just tolerate, but enjoy. But I am glad that most of her stuff is in prose, regardless.)

When I do get around to finishing the Boyer book and several others in my room with bookmarks in the mid-way point I recently acquired the follow-up book to Orson Scott Card’s masterpiece, Ender’s Game. I have heard that the rest of the series is also good, although I have trouble believing that they are as dizzying or awe-inducing as the first. Ender’s Game had a twist that M. Night Shyamalan would give the world for.

If anyone has any good book recommendations for me, I’d love to hear them. Particularly newer releases as I have a tough time keeping up with new authors of note.

August 16, 2007 - Posted by | Literature

1 Comment »

  1. NARUTO IS THE BEST ANIME…..
    GAARA AI SHITERU….

    Comment by Suko-chan | September 1, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

