SirTheory’s Treatise on Life

(opinions on just about anything)

Weyerbacher Double Simcoe IPA

Weyerbacher doesn’t often get mentioned in the same breath as other great breweries. Yet it is surprising considering the consistency and quality of beers they produce. The Double Simcoe IPA is amazing. It is a very floral IPA with just the right balance.

It is also one of the rare beers which is almost as amazing out of a bottle as it is on tap. I had it awhile back on tap, but last night was at a pub with it in a bottle. So I ordered it and it came out in a bottle that looked more like a wine bottle than a beer bottle. It was probably double the size of most normal beer bottles. It reminded me of those large Yuengling Lager bottles I see at concerts at the Chameleon Club. And, somehow, it was only $4 for the whole kit ‘n’ kabootle. At a 9% alcohol content it is a good thing I wasn’t driving. I’d love to find a way to get a six pack of it, however. Just a superb beer.

Weyerbacher is located in Easton, PA. I have no idea where that is, other than it allows me to feel pride that such a great brewery is in my state. (PA is actually quite rich is microbreweries. I certainly don’t complain.) They started in 1995 and, unfortunately, lack a brewpub. If they had a brewpub I’d definitely trek out there sometime.

August 14, 2007 - Posted by | Beer

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

