SirTheory’s Treatise on Life

(opinions on just about anything)

Recent Purchase Wrap-up

Every 2nd Sunday of every month (barring any major holidays like Christmas or Secretaries Day) there is a record show not too far from where I live. Like, just downtown. It advertises itself as the largest monthly record show in the nation. Whether or not that is true, I have my doubts. But I try to go every month. I really only go to one or two booths because the large majority of the booths only deal in records. Others have CDs, but they are dusty and old (not that that would stop me, but they aren’t exactly enthralling titles). But one guy has current stuff… and even has a bunch of pre-releases for albums which haven’t released yet. (Which is how I got that Thurston Moore solo album that I reviewed several days ago.) Today was probably the most successful trip I’ve had in a long time.

In order, from least important to most important:

It’s A Bit Complicated by Art Brut
Downtown Records, 2007

Never listened to the band before, but the name has definitely been around. And it is hard to go wrong with a $2.50 price tag. Seems rather like british indie rock with attitude. Seems like the sort of album I won’t really crave, but will enjoy the random song popping up on shuffle.

Boss by Magik Markers
Ecstatic Peace, 2007

Thurston Moore’s label, Ecstatic Peace, should be renamed Erratic Piece due to the unreasonably varied quality the label releases. They release stunning albums and horrible albums. Then there are middle of the road albums like this. Magik Markers sound like disciples of Sonic Youth with the same fetish with noise. Not bad. Not good. I could, however, see it as a grower album. We’ll see. (Note: that is not the actual picture of the album as far as I can tell. But it works, yeah?)

Werewolves and Lollipops by Patton Oswalt
SubPop, 2007

So I’ve heard the name Patton Oswalt around before without really paying attention to it. It wasn’t until this year that I found out that he is a comedian, not a musician. It wasn’t until several days ago I found out he did the lead character’s voice in Pixar’s newest, Ratatouille. So when I found his newest album for all of $2.50 I figured, heck, why not? And it is actually pretty funny. Comedy is such a visual branch that albums really can’t do it justice. But I will definitely enjoy random sketches popping up on shuffle.

The Trumpet Child by Over The Rhine
Great Speckled Dog Recordings, 2007

Their last album had a bare-bones feel that almost brought on a cabaret folk sound. This one is much more lounge in feel. It asks the listener to prop of their feet, pour some wine, and cuddle with a loved one. It doesn’t seem too compelling at this point, yet I have trouble seeing Over The Rhine failing to deliver a solid album. Time will tell.

We Are The Pipettes by The Pipettes
Interscope Records/Cherry Tree, 2007

At the end of August the US will finally see a state side release of last year’s indie pop buzz album by The Pipettes. It really is a fun album, full of dance-yer-buttocks-off pop songs. They are a throwback, but a fun novelty none the less. (That cover is the European cover. I am assuming the US release will be the same thing, but I don’t know for sure.) One interesting note is that the US release will have 17 tracks, three more than the European release.

Marry Me by St. Vincent
Beggars Banquet, 2007

My first reaction upon seeing St. Vincent, who is 23 year old Annie Clark, and reading the album title, Marry Me, was “Yes! Oh God, yes….” Because she is beautiful. Then when I heard her voice that reaction only intensified because her voice is stunning. She performs an orchestrated indie pop, but it has weird flourishes that you don’t usually hear in such music. Not to mention her guitar skills which are quite impressive. This album could definitely crack my year end top 10 list.

Widow City by The Fiery Furnaces
Thrill Jockey, 2007

Another possible top 10-er. I love just about anything this band does, although I will admit that last year’s Bitter Tea left me feeling kind of empty. However, I am a devotee of Rehearsing My Choir (best album of ’05) and this one seems to sound both weird, yet also like it could be appealing to the popular indie (what an oxymoron) crowd. We’ll see what kind of staying power it has with me. But on one listen it sounds great.

So that is my day in pictures and text. I am pretty happy with it. Because even the stuff I sound down on up there is enjoyable. It is just easier for me to talk negatives in a little blurb.

August 12, 2007 - Posted by | Music

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

